Departments

The Administrative and Dean's Office is located on the second floor of the AUM Library. This office is responsible for the general administration of all of the library units. It plans budgets and monitors expenditures and reports on the status of budgets to the units of the library. The office handles personnel selection and maintains personnel records for the library staff. The office coordinates planning and policies of the Library, reporting to the Provost of the University and to agencies outside the University.

Name Role Office Email Phone
Paige Hines Senior Administrative Associate 211 Library Administration phines@aum.edu (334) 244-3201
Phill Johnson Library Dean 211A Library Administration pjohns23@aum.edu (334) 244-3200

The goal of the Public Services Unit, comprising the Access Services, Reference, Teaching and Instruction, Special Collections/Archives, and Government Documents departments, is committed to meeting all users library and research needs, and ensuring all users enjoy a pleasant library experience.

Name Role Office Email Phone
Jessica Hayes Head of Public Services 211B Library Administration jhayes11@aum.edu (334) 244-3814
Maranda Faulk Reference, Senior Library Associate 247 Library Tower mfaulk2@aum.edu (334) 244-3648
Samantha McNeilly Archives and Special Collections/Teaching and Instruction Librarian 802 Library Tower smcneill@aum.edu (334) 244-3213
Karen Williams Access Services Librarian 1st Floor, Library Tower kwilli16@aum.edu (334) 244-3445
Tom Russell Access Services, Library Associate 1st Floor, Library Tower jrussel6@aum.edu (334) 244-3416
Tabitha Singleton ILL and Course Reserves, Library Associate 1st Floor, Library Tower tsinglet@aum.edu (334) 394-5213
Beth Parrish Government Documents, Senior Library Associate 3rd Floor, Library Administration Building mparris4@aum.edu (334) 244-3650
Lanita Crawford Government Documents, Senior Library Associate 3rd Floor, Library Administration lcrawfo8@aum.edu (334) 244-3650
Anita Griffith Serials/Reference, Library Associate 804 Library Tower agriffit@aum.edu (334) 244-3207

The job of the collection development librarian is to coordinate the building of the library collections through gifts and purchases. The librarian works with the faculty and library staff to ensure the adequacy of library collections for student use.

Name Role Office Email Phone
Rickey Best Collection Development Librarian 219-B Library Administration rbest@aum.edu 334-244-3276

The Library Technology unit is responsible for planning, implementing and maintaining the automated information technologies within the Library, thus playing a crucial role in supporting other library departments. The systems maintained by Library Technology include:

  • Our integrated library systems, which includes online catalog accessibility for our users, and also involves maintaining access for Library staff to carry out duties involving circulation control, acquisitions, serials control, and other operations
  • Managing access to the Library's databases, e-books, and other electronic resources
  • Maintaining the Library's website
  • Implement new library technology services initiatives

Name Role Office Email Phone
Tim Bailey Systems Librarian 246 Library Tower tbailey1@aum.edu (334) 244-3420
Larry Brumby Senior User Services Technician 219-E Library Administration lbrumby@aum.edu (334) 244-3210
Daniel Moody Emerging Technologies Librarian 213 Library Administration dmoody2@aum.edu (334) 244-3199
The Technical Services Department consists of Acquisitions, Cataloging and Serials. The department supports the mission of the library by purchasing, cataloging and processing library materials.

Name Role Office Email Phone
John Gantt Head of Technical Services 804 Library Tower jgantt2@aum.edu (334) 244-3781
Anne Mulder Senior Library Associate 804 Library Tower dmulder@aum.edu (334) 244-3207
Amanda Scott Cataloging Librarian 804 Library Tower ascott20@aum.edu (334) 244-3684
Diane Westfall Library Associate 804 Library Tower dwestfal@aum.edu (334) 244-3789